The only thing that stays the same is that things change… (2007, 2008)

So, my mom wrote that letter (she’s really good at writing letters…it’s her favorite thing, I swear).  And then she called me that this young lady was going to place her child in an adoption and she wondered if I was interested. 

Of course I was interested!  But we’d been through this how many times before?  I would have to ask Jeff and I would be careful not to get my hopes up.  I immediately called Jeff and told him the scoop and asked if we should pursue it.  He said, “Go for it.”  I can’t really remember if I then called my mom back and she called the family or if I took the number down.  I did call Jeff’s mom at work and let her know what was going on and asked for prayers. 

I think it was a few days later that I worked up the nerve to call the family.  The young lady was too nervous to talk and so her mother did all the talking.  What I wouldn’t have done for my mother to do all the talking for me, too.  Ahhh…but I’m 30 now.  🙂  They were going to go to an agency and talk to a counselor and then they’d be in touch.  We offered our “standard package” and by what I mean is that the few people we’d talked to about adopting we offered to cover all legal fees (standard) and medical bills (standard).  So there is no cost to the birth mother.  They asked to see our “profile” so I quickly wrote up “A Story of Us” and thanked her that no matter which family she chose that she chose life for her child.  Something I would not have had the fortitude to do at that age.

I knew if they met with that state agency there was no way we were going to be able to adopt that baby because I knew that particular agency only takes care of Nebraska families and we were in Oregon. 

The counselor didn’t show up to their meeting.

Call it what you will, but I call it a GOD THING.

They called us late that night.  I was buck naked, just got out of the shower and knew in my heart they were not going to call back.  And said, “We would like you to be parents of this child.”  It still makes me cry to this day!  We called our parents and let them know and then finally got dressed. 

A baby boy, due May 11, 2008-Mother’s Day.

Jeff already had him named and ironically it was the same name our beloved birth mother had also chosen.

We did not get much sleep that night.  Nor would we for the next 3 months. 

Leave a Reply

